Home > NewsRelease > SPJ and JEA name winners of 2021 essay contest
SPJ and JEA name winners of 2021 essay contest
Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ)
For Immediate Release:
Dateline: Indianapolis, IN
Wednesday, April 14, 2021

Matthew T. Hall, SPJ National President, 619-987-7786, mhall@spj.org
Ashlynn Neumeyer, SPJ Communications Coordinator, 317-361-4133, aneumeyer@spj.org

INDIANAPOLIS — The Society of Professional Journalists and Journalism Education Association announce three scholarship winners in the 2021 SPJ/JEA High School Essay Contest.

More than 275 students participated in the nationwide contest, which was judged by 21 journalism educators from around the country.

Established in 1998, the contest is a project of both JEA and SPJ. The topic for the 2021 contest — “Why must journalists strive to improve diversity and representation in both their coverage and in their newsrooms, and how might this happen?” — was selected by members of JEA’s Scholastic Journalism Week committee.

"On behalf of SPJ, I'd like to congratulate the three winners and thank all of the judges and essayists involved in this,” SPJ National President Matthew T. Hall said. “Their collective efforts have shown the sheer importance of diversity and inclusion in newsrooms and news coverage. These essays are a great reminder why we need to keep advocating for better representation in stories and staffing year in and year out. These essays are how we make journalism better."

“This year’s essay prompt was not only timely and relevant, but a topic that these young writers showed a passion for,” JEA Executive Director Kelly Glasscock, CJE, said. “I was inspired by their thoughtful perspective on the value of diversity and representation in all aspects of media and beyond."

2021 SPJ/JEA High School Essay Contest winners:

— First Place, $1,000 Scholarship Winner:
Hyungsoon Henry Kim, St. Paul's School — Concord, New Hampshire

— Second Place, $500 Scholarship Winner:
Qingyang Li, Friendswood High School – Friendswood, Texas

— Third Place, $300 Scholarship Winner:
Erin Stoeckig, Mayo High School – Rochester, Minnesota

Founded in 1924, the Journalism Education Association supports free and responsible scholastic journalism by providing resources and educational opportunities, by promoting professionalism, by encouraging and rewarding student excellence and teacher achievement, and by fostering an atmosphere which encompasses diversity yet builds unity. It is headquartered at Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kansas. For further information about JEA, please visit www.jea.org.

SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to informing citizens; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and fights to protect First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. Support excellent journalism and fight for your right to know. Become a member, give to the Legal Defense Fund, or give to the SPJ Foundation.

News Media Interview Contact
Name: Jennifer Royer
Group: Society of Professional Journalists
Dateline: Indianapolis, IN United States
Direct Phone: 317-927-8000
Jump To Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) Jump To Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ)
Contact Click to Contact
Other experts on these topics