Home > NewsRelease > New Journalism Awards from ASJA
New Journalism Awards from ASJA
American Society of Journalists and Authors (ASJA) American Society of Journalists and Authors (ASJA)
New York , NY
Wednesday, December 01, 2010

American Society of Journalists and Authors (ASJA) Announces Two Freelance Journalism Awards Now Open to Public

ASJA opens two awards, previously open only to ASJA members, to public.

New York City, December 1, 2010—The American Society of Journalists and Authors (ASJA) has opened The Arlenes: Books and Articles That Make a Difference and The Donald Robinson Memorial Award for Investigative Journalism to the public, marking a change from ASJA's long-time policy of these monetary awards going exclusively to members.

"We are excited to be able to expand the pool of eligible work for recognition," said Alexandra Owens, ASJA's executive director. "Independent writing is the lifeblood of a free society, and in today's media environment it's more challenging than ever. These awards recognize the best work of freelance writers who dedicate themselves to truly making a difference with their work."

The Arlenes are made possible by the Arlene Eisenberg Memorial Fund, which was established by ASJA member Howard Eisenberg, Arlene's husband. Ms. Eisenberg wrote What to Expect When You're Expecting, as well as other books affecting (and improving) the lives of parents worldwide. The awards are for freelance articles and/or trade books making a documented difference in society by inspiring readers to take action to make a positive change in the world around them.

The Arlene Article Award is presented annually for articles published within the last two years. This year the award will be given to articles published in 2009 or 2010.

The Donald Robinson Memorial Award for Investigative Journalism is funded by a bequest from Donald Robinson, third president of ASJA. This monetary award goes to a freelance-written article representing exceptional achievement in investigative journalism or exposé writing. Entries for 2011 award must have been published in 2010.

ASJA encourages freelancers—members and non-members alike—to submit their work for consideration if they feel it meets the criteria for one of the awards. Cash prizes accompany this recognition; amounts vary, minimum prize is $500.

For complete details and submission instructions, visit

http://www.asja.org/awards/awards.php Submission deadline is January 7, 2011.


ASJA, the professional association of independent nonfiction writers, was founded in 1948. ASJA headquarters are in New York City. Read more about ASJA at www.ASJA.org or call 212-997-0947.

Alexandra Owens
Executive Director
ASJA (American Society of Journalists and Authors)
New York, NY
212 997-0947
212 937-2315
First Url: ASJA 2011 Awards