Home > NewsRelease > Funeral Directors & Cemeterians Highlight Before I Die Festival Events
Text Movie Graphics
Funeral Directors & Cemeterians Highlight Before I Die Festival Events
From:
Gail Rubin, The Doyenne of Death, Funeral Expert Gail Rubin, The Doyenne of Death, Funeral Expert
Albuquerque , NM
Friday, October 16, 2020


Gail Rubin, CT, The Doyenne of Death®
 
Video Clip: Click to Watch

Funeral directors and cemeterians highlight several of the 26 live events being held during the 4th annual Before I Die New Mexico Virtual Festival. The online event takes place October 30 to November 2, 2020, with tickets available at BeforeIDieNM.com.

People in the funeral and cemetery businesses will want to be a part of these industry-specific conversations. The public can also benefit from what they learn in these sessions.

Friday, Oct. 30: Where the Bodies are Buried

There are people who are successfully operating cemeteries in a changing environment. In this panel discussion, learn about new approaches to cemetery use, creative community outreach, and income enhancements. Join these cemeterians for a discussion at 12:00 p.m. EDT/11:00 a.m. CDT/10:00 a.m. MDT/9:00 a.m. PDT:

Sunday, Nov. 1: Millennial Morticians with ABQ Brews

Join in this lively discussion with young funeral professionals. They'll provide a fresh perspective on the business of dying. Join the discussion at 7:00 p.m. EST/6:00 p.m. CST/5:00 p.m. MST/4:00 p.m. PST. Panelists include:

Monday, Nov. 2: Funeral Directors' Experiences in COVID Hot Spots

Funeral directors Amy Cunningham with A Fitting Tribute in New York City and Syd Waldman with Waldman Funeral Care in Houston share their experiences at the peak of coronavirus deaths in their cities. Join the discussion at 2:00 p.m. EST/1:00 p.m. CST/12:00 p.m. MST/11:00 a.m. PST. In addition to hearing about their experiences, they'll discuss lessons learned:

1. Streamed funerals and Zoomed memorial events are stronger than ever, with some surprising advantages.

2. New strategies on getting the life story told, which is increasingly important: video slide shows of the life, memorial books with recipes, life wisdom and photos, and other activities.

3. Outdoor gatherings may be the preference for next couple of years in some areas, strengthening the case for choosing burial gravesides.

4. More folks are signing their end-of-life directives and making funeral plans in advance. Death used to be something we didn't want to talk about, now it seems it's all we discuss!

Sessions on Funerals and Memorial Services

On Friday, October 30, there are two sessions about new trends in online memorial services and making meaningful funerals.

3:30 p.m. EDT/2:30 p.m. CDT/1:30 p.m. MDT/12:30 p.m. PDT Join "How to Hold a Virtual Memorial Service" with Mandy Benoualid, President of Keeper. She will share how her family put together a virtual memorial service for her grandmother, who died of COVID-19 earlier this year. She will also provide a PDF guide with great information.

5:00 p.m. EDT/4:00 p.m. CDT/3:00 p.m. MDT/2:00 p.m. PDT "Raising the Bar on Our Funeral Traditions" with Kyle Tevlin, founder of I Want a Fun Funeral. It's time to take our goodbye celebrations up a notch. And that doesn't mean a great photo montage. It means getting involved, rolling up your sleeves, and honoring and celebrating with all that you've got. With this new vision, you'll never see funerals the same way again. Learn how to help people create deeply meaningful and unforgettable goodbye celebrations.

Get Your Tickets Today!

Tickets range from $20 for a one-day pass, $50 for all four days, to $100 for the Halloween VIP Experience. Get Tickets Here: https://beforeidienm.com/virtual-festival-tickets-on-sale/

Festival Sponsors

2020 Festival Sponsors

Thank you to these sponsors of the Before I Die New Mexico Virtual Festival:

A portion of the sponsorship proceeds and ticket sales from the Before I Die NM Virtual Festival will be donated to these 501(c)(3) charitable partners:

Gail Rubin, CT, is author and host of the award-winning book and television series, A Good Goodbye: Funeral Planning for Those Who Don’t Plan to Die, Hail and Farewell: Cremation Ceremonies, Templates and Tips, and KICKING THE BUCKET LIST: 100 Downsizing and Organizing Things to Do Before You Die.

Rubin is a Certified Thanatologist (that's a death educator) and a popular speaker who uses humor and films to get the end-of-life and funeral planning conversation started. She "knocked 'em dead" with her TEDx talk, A Good Goodbye. She provides continuing education credit classes for attorneys, doctors, nurses, social workers, hospice workers, financial planners, funeral directors and other professionals. She's a Certified Funeral Celebrant and funeral planning consultant who has been interviewed in national and local print, broadcast and online media.

Known as The Doyenne of Death®, she is the event coordinator of the Before I Die NM Festival. She also hosts A Good Goodbye Internet radio show and produces Mortality Minute radio and online video spots. Her YouTube Channel features more than 450 videos!

Rubin is a member of the Association for Death Education and Counseling, the International Cemetery, Cremation and Funeral Association, Toastmasters International and the National Speakers Association New Mexico Chapter. Her speaking profile is available at eSpeakers.com.

Gail Rubin has been interviewed about funeral planning issues in national and local broadcast, print and online media. Outlets include The Huffington Post, Money Magazine, Kiplinger, CBS Radio News, WGN-TV,  and local affiliates for NPR, PBS, FOX, ABC-TV, CBS-TV and NBC-TV. Albuquerque Business First named her as one of their 2019 Women of Influence.

Sign up for a free planning form and occasional informative newsletter at her website, AGoodGoodbye.com.

News Media Interview Contact
Name: Gail Rubin
Group: A Good Goodbye
Dateline: Albuquerque, NM United States
Direct Phone: 505-265-7215
Cell Phone: 505-363-7514
Jump To Gail Rubin, The Doyenne of Death, Funeral Expert Jump To Gail Rubin, The Doyenne of Death, Funeral Expert
Contact Click to Contact